In the Lean/TPS, training within industry (TWI) is almost identical to the gradual release of responsibility (GRR) model in education.  Lev Vygotsky first coined the concept of the zone of proximal development, which led to the gradual release of responsibility model used in education today.  Later, Jeffrey Wilhelm used the following phrases for the gradual release of responsibility;

  • I do – you watch (Modeled)
  • We do together (Shared)
  • You do – I help (Guided)
  • You do alone – I help as needed (Independent)

I am coming to believe that anytime a student or adult needs to learn something, they need to be taught using the GRR model.  Indeed, I just realized yesterday that I was using the GRR model when I was trying to help teachers to start blogging with their students.  As well, I learn Karate the same way.  I believe GRR is an example of a transferrable tool that can and should be used whenever training or learning is required.  Moreover, there are many more tools or ways of thinking that improve student learning directly in the classroom, and lead ultimately to to improved student learning indirectly at the school, department and system levels.

About James Bond

I am a Lean educator who hopes to inspire and be inspired by an innovative school community where we all become Global Critical Thinkers Collaborating to Change the World in a Digitally Rich Learning Community Without Limits.

Leave a Reply

