I had a very productive meeting today with Erik & Paul Hager from Lean Productivity Systems Inc. where we discussed how to implement some of the key philosophies and tools of the Toyota Production System (TPS) into education and improve student learning.

Here are some of the key learnings I think I understood from our meeting.

  1. Many of the philosophies of the TPS were around before Toyota was even started, but were incorporated into it because they worked.
  2. When using an A3 Report, the benefit is as a result of completing the report and the learning that goes along with the completion.  I was reminded of the number of times I had to revise or add something to a report at the request of my manager, which helped me learn more about the problem solving, project management or planning process.
  3. The use of the tool is not as important as asking what the need or problem is and resolving it using the appropriate tool to ultimately add value at the gemba, which is student learning in this case.

I need to go back and redo my A3 Reports on the School Community Plan, School Success Plan and Technology For, As & Of Learning Plan with a focus on the left hand side of the reports, to focus on the need, its analysis and the strategies used to address it.  As I am completing these reports, which I should have started way back at the start of the school year, I am gaining a greater understanding of why I am going in a certain direction and reminded to gather evidence to report out on at the end of all these initiatives.

About James Bond

I am a Lean educator who hopes to inspire and be inspired by an innovative school community where we all become Global Critical Thinkers Collaborating to Change the World in a Digitally Rich Learning Community Without Limits.

Leave a Reply

